Benevolent Sexism-“The truth about sexism seems stranger than fiction”

The truth about sexism seems stranger than fiction. From I Hear I see I learn, ‘Benevolent Sexism’.

iheariseeilearn

Once upon a time, there was a really nice man. Just for arguments sake, let’s call him Rudolph..

 

Bit too much like a reindeer?

 

Okay.

 

How about Rupert?

 

Murdoch immediately comes to mind, not a good look.

 

I know, how about Randolph, or Randy for short. Anyway Randy is this pretty demure sort of guy that – well, read on…

 

http://blogs.scientificamerican.com/psysociety/2013/04/02/benevolent-sexism/

 

Something can’t actually be sexist if it’s really, really nice, right?

I mean, if someone compliments me on my looks or my cooking, that’s  not sexist. That’s awesome! I should be thrilled that I’m being noticed  for something positive!

Yet there are many comments that, while  seemingly  complimentary, somehow still feel wrong. These comments may focus on an  author’s appearance rather than the content of her writing, or mention how surprising it is that she’s a woman, being that her field is mostly…

View original post 2,509 more words

About calburn88

"Everyday I am encouraged by the women who persevere, who continue to engage and who refuse to be silenced. I truly believe that if we work together, we can create a cultural shift where women, without fear of intimidation, without fear of threats or harassment, can be full and active participants in our digital world." [Anita Sarkeesian]

One response to “Benevolent Sexism-“The truth about sexism seems stranger than fiction””

  1. Goodrumo says :

    Discombob-WHAT!?

Leave a Reply

